How to Write a Better Resume

…and Improve your Chances of an Interview Call

Mahesh S.
7 min readApr 7, 2023
My Professional resume that got me my job :-)

I receive more than a few messages from my connections who share their resumes with me, asking for referrals. As a result, I’ve seen a fair share of resumes and unfortunately I feel that a lot of them could do with some improvements. In fact, I’ve had this “can be better” emotion with enough resumes that I feel compelled enough to write this piece in order to share my suggestions & tips for good resume writing. So let’s begin!

*Le Me right now

First of All: What is the intent behind a resume? Do you want to write one because it sounds like a fun past-time, or you want to impress your crush by showing off your cool hobbies? No! You write a resume because you want to showcase your work and skills to an employer. The intent behind your resume is to make anyone reading it feel like you are a great candidate for their role. Your resume should convince the recruiter to pick up the phone and call you immediately.

Keeping this in mind, what was wrong with some of the resumes I’ve seen? Here are some handpicked sentences that were written by the candidates,

  • Used ML models like Regression and Decision…

--

--

Mahesh S.

Loves travelling, exploring different cultures, learning new things about the world!